Nando’s Peri-Peri,Extra Hot Chilli Sauce- Product Review.

Now who fancies some piping hot, let me whistle like a steam ship, blazing ear twitchy, confident turtle posing kinda hotness in their dish? You do?? Sorry, I don’t!! 

Now as the law of nature or my genetic composition would have it, I was supposed to be born with an innate & nascent ability to savour, relish & dream about high spice & hotness factor (I’m an Indian after all) , we are from a country where the “Ghost Chilli Pepper” aka “Bhoot Jolokia” is grown in your backyard with subtle coriander. Alas!! destiny had other plans and i ended up with a palate for low spice tolerance. Accidental gulping of a sliver or two of green chilli, has more often than not sent me transforming from your plain Jane to Incredible Sulk.. Oops!! I meant Hulk.. Well, its just pretty much the same blistering barnacle stuff. Me with chilli in the mouth = Hulk =Sulk. 

” So, why the Chilli Sauce review outta all the things on earth, I’m sure you got more issues than Vogue to handle? ” says you. 

For starters, you need to cut that sarcasm out. 😒😒 Now, why this post outta all things on earth is because, apparently, alot of my dishes these days are getting a little peri-peri in them. So, I thought, hey why not.. I could surely share my ex-PERI-ence with you. 

  

I’ve had my fair share of red chilli sauces & they all have had a very tolerable level. Plonk & splash them in Indo-Chinese dishes & Viola! I never had the guts to try something with blazing Scoville Heat Units, until I was presented with the “Nando’s Peri-Peri Extra Hot Chilli Sauce”.

  

My common sense warned me against it, it said ” Frigging” Extra Hot, for crying out loud. 

  

And then just like that one day, i opened it up. The first thing I noticed was how flowy the sauce was. That kinda put me off. I mean, here I am.. literally, imaginary barfing my guts out at the thought of something HOT & I see, this meek & feeble sauce hello-ing back at me.

“Greetings and Salutations, ye meek one” says me.

I take a whiff of it & again it’s something that’s pretty vinegary, light capsaiciny & garlicky kinda aroma. It’s nice & subtle. 

“Ummm.. Okay!”

I muster up all the courage I have and just get a few mls on the spoon & I let it gently slide down my tongue into my throat. I’m expecting the darn thing to burn & scar me for ages. Guess what? I doesn’t. 

  

Yes, you read that right. It doesn’t!! It has a midsized punch, but nothing & absolutely nothing about this sauce is “Extra Hot”. I’d say, it’s in between mild & hot . Yes. Though I have low tolerance to hot peppers, this one wasn’t so bad. It stung like how all chilli sauces do, but didn’t make me run for a glass of milk. 

Let me put it this way, the sauce was hot enough to be calmed down with a glass of water. And, if you know your peppers, then you obviously know that.. The higher the Scoville Heat Unit, the faster you need to reach for a glass of milk for the effect to neutralise. Water doesn’t do much. 😝😝

It’s as good as your standard TABASCO sauce. 

  

Hence, after that day i tried the sauce in a lot of dishes actually. In curries, marinations, baguettes, etc.  it was just the superb compliment to my sandwiches. I found myself using it even in Indian cuisine. 

Brief Insights:

  • Mild to hot sauce.
  • Not for people who love it damn hot, a blessing for folks like me. 
  • Uses African Bird Eye chilli, which isn’t very high on capsaicin content.
  • Tastes like TABASCO just a little thicker & tad bit more flavourful. 
  • Is MSG, additives, gluten, preservatives free. So, it’s quality that we are talking about here.
  • Works on almost everything that needs some heat. 
  • Priced at an exorbitant Rs.420/-
  • You can find sauces at much easier prices, which taste pretty much the same, but maybe wouldn’t come with the preservative, MSG, additives & Gluten free tag.

Verdict: I, personally loved the sauce. It hit at the right spot for me. It did bring out the heat without scarring me for life, that being said, it is on the higher end of the pricing spectrum. You can find sauces, for half of that price & yet have all the qualities that this bottle has & much more. If pricing wasn’t an issue, then I’d be very keen on restocking over & over again. 

Rating : 3/5


17 thoughts on “Nando’s Peri-Peri,Extra Hot Chilli Sauce- Product Review.

  1. Loving your blog!! Pity I an’t take chilli, or anything with overwhelming flavours, my mumhas to cook bland for me, and add in raw red chillies on her and my dad’s plate!!! I don’t know how they do it!!! With the slightest bit of chilli, I’m doing laps round the house, spoonning ice cream in my mouth and drinking tonnes of water, and maybe chewing on starburst or chewits lol!!! I can only take garlic sauce, heinz ketchup and mayonnaise!!! If i do have chilli sauce wth chips, It is like one milimeter dot with a whole long chip so yeah!!!!
    Have a fab rest of the day!!
    bye
    mahjabeen

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello tastebud sista!! I’m not a fan of chilli too, I hate it.. Just today, I was fasting and ordered some shawarma online.. I had to experiment when I’m hungry 😒😒🙄🙄

      The shawarma looked amazeballs and when I took that first bite, I realised this was hot stuff, like all the habeneros in the world in my shawarma 💔💔 😒😒

      And my sister sits there with her classic eye rolling stuff and says ” whatever, if you aren’t eating it, I might as well have it” 😱😱😭😭😭

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I almost bought this sauce the other day, but I was afraid it would be too hot. Nando’s Peri-peri restaurant is really good so I figured I’d like it. Now after reading your review I think I can manage the heat, I’ll have to try it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

