Yves Saint Laurent, Touché Éclat- Product Review. 

The YSL Touché Éclat! Is there anyone over here, who doesn’t know about the magic elixir packaged in a pen? Well, if you don’t then you really are missing alot of action in the beauty world. 

Any makeup addict, fashionista, beauty guru or a makeup artist who is worth his or her salt, will probably tell you how this product is a can’t live without. I mean, let’s just put all the hype that this YSL product has & just for a moment think about what’s going on?

Why are so many people swearing by it? Why is it a must have? Why can’t I live without it? Are there any other cheaper alternatives or dupes? And lastly, do I really need it? 

  

The touché éclat is more of a statement makeup. This little pen does come with bragging rights bestowed upon its owner. Somehow, the touché éclat is supposed to talk about your refined taste. 😒😒 I’m like.. Uhhmm.. Ok!! 

The reason I bought this baby is because of the hype. Yes, I fell for it & decided to sacrifice the Givenchy “Ange Ou Etrange” fragrance ( which is still on my wish list btw) that I had been eyeing. This Dang pen better be good stuff, or i had promised myself to never read a fashion mag ever again. 😱😱  Gladly, I’m a vogue subscriber till date 😁😁

What is the Touché Éclat? 

Let me try to put this in the most simplest way ever. The touché éclat is the most beautifully blendable concealer, highlighter & corrector in one. Touché Éclat is the mommy of all things & mommies are always such multitasking beings.  

  

The company claims that this is a “Luminocaptide Complex”, which instantly illuminates your skin by erasing fine lines, refreshing tired looking skin & banishing fatigue. They claim that this is an 8 hour sleep in the click of a pen. 

  

What is the most important thing to remember is that, this isn’t an under eye concealer. This is used for highlighting & enhancing your features. Erasing fine lines et al. The coverage isn’t heavy & is certainly not gonna work against those heavily dark under eye circles. 

  

I, got the shade no.2 called “Luminious Ivory”, which works quite well for my skin tone. My skin tone has a pink & yellow undertone to it. So, this colour worked the best.

The bristles are just so fine and don’t stab or hurt at all. The pen works on a click mechanism. Which means you’re clicking the pen away to get the product out. I reckon, you must click atleast 20 times or so to get any bit of that elixir out. Which is a super thing for me, as I have a very nosey toddler. 😒😒😒 So, he oughta click it a lot for any result.. And till then, I’m shouting my red lungs out for the pen. 😠😠😡

To avoid all the disappointment that would come across, due to the improper usage. I’m gonna give you a pictorial description of highlighting & concealing. You can decide what you would like to on that particular day.

How to highlight?

After you’ve done your basic primer, foundation, compact routine. You need to highlight these areas shaded in yellow. 

  

Those areas are: 

  • Middle of the forehead & the temples.
  • The gap between the brows.
  • The bridge of your nose.
  • Just above the hollows of your cheekbones. 
  • The inner corner of your eyes. 
  • Atop your brows & on the brow bone( if you plan on the natural look,sans eyeshadow)
  • Over your undereye concealer. 
  • On the cupids bow & beneath your lower lip.
  • On the chin.
  • In the hollow of your neck. 

That must take care of your highlighting. 

How to conceal?

I don’t recommend buying this just for the sole purpose of a concealer. It should be used over a concealer or maybe used as a light to medium coverage concealer for those no makeup days. 

Here’s how you can conceal, areas shaded in yellow. 

  

The areas are: 

  • Your undereyes & the cheeks. Do downward swipes & this may well be a great way to go the no makeup way. 
  • The eyelids sans the eyeshadow or as an eyeshadow base, which conceals fine lines. 
  • The crows feet. 
  • And you can also erase any fine smile or frown lines too.
  • It must be used even on the corners of your nose.

Now after this information, it’s really up to you to gauge the necessity of this product. It’s priced at a hefty £25 for 2.5ml and in that price you certainly will get some great cheaper alternatives, both in India & abroad. 

  

Do I like this?? Well, I’ve done 3 restocks and it runs almost forever. The lightness of this product works both as an advantage & disadvantage depending upon what techniques you’re applying. 

You are the best judge on how to extract the full potential of this product. As for me, YSL has me in its grip. I’ve gone on shopping hauls and shopped for everything except the touché éclat and then felt a sense of great guilt, when the other products didn’t work out that well for me. 

It’s been a love-hate affair from the past 4 years and well, I will say that I love it. Period. 

11 thoughts on “Yves Saint Laurent, Touché Éclat- Product Review. 

  1. Wow! You did such an amazing job reviewing that product, I hope they send you a lifetime supply! Love you darling! 😙💋💋💋❤❤❤❤❤💙💙💙💙

    Liked by 2 people

  2. It is an innovative design, for sure. I have used their brush pen concealer and nail polish for a while, too. I was amazed at how little streaking there was. Otherwise, I’m a fan of their awesome lip colours. x

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

