The enchanted world of Toddlers&their Talks- 6 signs.

Im pretty flummoxed with the things my toddler tells me. Sometimes,I’m gaping in horror & sometimes I’m just playing “Mommy”,acting like I understand every bit of useless & vital information he gives me. The “Terrible Two’s”,are terrible for the reason,that they terribly drain away every ounce,gram,millilitre,etc of your energy. It’s just been a few hours since you’re up,and you can already feel the weight of the day in your bones. 

Those kids are everywhere. They are like little monsters,elves,gnomes, leprechauns,goblins.. You get it! They just are everywhere. Let me tell you a secret,they also possess the power of ” TeleKinesis” and “TelePortation”. I kid you not,dear worried parent. 😢 We’re in this together. 

Just a split second ago,you caught your LO trying to tip the Venetian flower vase& when you save that vase by fluke & you hear shattering sounds *kaboom* from your bedroom. The poor klutzy you rushes in,only to find your LO smiling,standing a good distance away from the crime scene. 

Pray,tell me dear parent… Just how did your toddler manage to find himself in the bedroom in split seconds and also shatter your favourite hand held “VanityMirror”,which was btw way beyond his reach?? I really ought to tell you,it’s telekinesis and not you clumsily forgetting that mirror on the baby chair. 😐😐 You can’t always be the klutzomaniac,please.😒

I staunchly believe so. Period. 

So,there are things our toddlery LO’s try to tell us every other day. They can talk,yes they do.. But for complex sentences,they still rely on Sign languages & broken sentences. Here are the few,yet common things our toddlers tell us: 

1348888353674_9244549

  • He starts crying uncontrollably for no reason or throws tantrums: 

My LO usually behaves all perked, irritated,tantrum-y, crybaby-ish,uncontrollable,etc when he is super tired,groggy or confused. That’s the way he signals me these 3 emotions. He still can’t define them,nor can he understand what they mean. Ergo, a bawling episode alerts me. I,end up pacifying him & giving him the comfort that, I understand him.(psssst.. Sometimes,I just feel like running away,but then I think of all the mess I’d have to face,when I get back & refrain that thought)

  • He hugs you &seems disturbed or tells you to pick him up,cuddles& kisses you: 

Whenever my sister or brother try to show even as much as an iota of authority over me,the LO starts his PDA with me. By authority I mean,” I love you Sis.” Or ” I love Emmy” Or ” Emmy lets go out” Or ” Emmy do you love me?”. Those words & the LO is breaking all boundaries & borders,just to come near me & claim me as his. This usually is a sign of a toddler,trying to establish his authority over things he loves. He craves your attention& loves it when you shower him with it. I,for one.. Love these episodes & leave no stone unturned to have him give me kissykoos. 

  • He sticks to the walls,or goes into a room,makes himself invisible or tells you to look away,when he’s pooping: 

Be supercharged,your kid has progressed to the next level of independence. He’s ready to be potty trained. This is your kid’s way of letting you know,that he fairly understands the need for privacy& also good etiquettes.That’s a big word eh? But he knows it already. What you should do is encourage your child & teach him a few more things about privacy&manners,like dressing in private or not burping& farting in front of people.

  • Doesn’t look into your eyes,bows his head down & appears embarrassed: 

When you child has understood the concept of privacy&etiquettes,it isn’t surprising that he also knows the emotion of embarrassment.Your toddler at this very moment is a smart bloke. He understands that the certain thing he has done will get him no brownie points,but will surely get you into a fit of lip biting rage,tears& disappointment. To combat that emotion,your toddler starts looking away,not looking at you in the eye or bows his head down. He understands that he is wrong. 

  • He starts fidgeting or starts licking his lips or has a blank face around a few or a group of people:

This means that your LO isn’t as comfortable as you would like him to be with that particular group of people. He finds new faces overwhelming and starts diverting his attention at something else to stop himself from interacting with those people. Licking lips,brimming of eyes,fidgeting are all signs of uneasiness. Try keeping your child close to you and introducing these people one by one. Keep him in your arms & let him interact with others. When he’s ready,slowly let him go,while you’re within his sight. Wave at him and interact from a distance,telling him he’s safe with the others too. 

  • He talks & shows imaginary things or people:

Ok,I need to tell you this. I hate this! Like super hate this. The other day,I was in my bed & clearly enjoying my magazine. The LO comes in and jumps into my bed and says he wants to sleep in my lap,I say ok. **poof** We have a power cut,I tell someone to switch on the UPS & in that minute my son says,”Emmy look Milly is up there.” Trust me,at that minute.. I wanted to leave the LO and run for my life. Scenes from Grudge,Exorcist etc came at me. All I could say was,” Arham,I dunno if you wanna pee in your diapers,but I think I’m gonna be peeing in my pants now”. When the UPS came on,so did my strength and I said,” Who is Milly?” To which he replied,” Milly the Monkey” (reference to his finger puppet) I sighed a breath of relief & laughed like a buffoon.

But whatever dude,I get freaked outta my wits. Day or night,I don’t find it funny or the least bit interesting 😖😭😭 Anyways,this isn’t about me.. So when your LO does this,it means that he has developed a flair for interaction & reenacting the things he sees,hears& feels during his awake time. His imagination is running wild,which will help him in thought processing & understanding consequences. 

So much for being a parent. I don’t think that there is a better superhero than us. We’re all saving the day in one way or the other at home. **RESPECT**

17 thoughts on “The enchanted world of Toddlers&their Talks- 6 signs.

Leave a Reply

