Ragú alla bolognese- An Indian Version for the spicy soul.

Let me tell you a little secret, I am a fanatic when it comes to Italian cuisine. And a sucker for pastas in general. I have a ” PASTA FETISH”.. It’s not very different from any other fetish. I live by the motto ” I need them all”. When I’m in a supermarket,I’m checking out the new editions,stocking up on the old ones and very aptly skimming thru the “oils and vinegar” section.

People don’t quite understand my infatuation with PASTA.. They think ” oh well!! How does a fettucine differ drastically from linguine,it’s from durum wheat manh.. How different can it get”

 * gulp*

Spare me the horror.I am,but pretty sure that you and your sibling differ drastically,though you’re the same parental DNA?? * hopes to make a point there*

Any ways,the farfelles,the rigatonis,the fettucines,the tagliatelle, the pappardelle,the linguines,etc… Heaven to just hold them. Even saying their names has a certain oomph to it 😁😁

Once I have the pastas in my hand,I’m thinking of sauces to go with it. Do I do the carbonara,neopolitana,Alfredo, bolognese or the aglio olio??

And once I’ve decided that,the water’s on a rolling boil and I’m chopping away to glory. I’m a strict follower of the traditional recipes…with a few exceptions of course,to suit my tastes and lifestyle. I don’t prefer indianizing any versions,but then that is met with discerning nods telling how unspicy the dish is or how some extra ginger garlic could’ve done wonders. 

Though this dish,will get the ITALIANS putting up their hands in dismay at the mutation. I will still brave the odds and proffer to you a ” DESI” /INDIAN version. If Barbie can have an Indian version,the Ragú  must have one too.. Btw,Ragú beats barbie hands down.. * smirk*

So,for all of you,who like things in life a little extra spiced..This version is dedicated to YOU: (this Ragú holds good for 400 gms of pasta,roughly a double of the amount of mince)

Ragú alla Bolognese( Indianized):

Ingredients: 

  • Chicken or mutton mince-250 gms
  • Tomatoes chopped – 2 medium ones.
  • Onions chopped finely- 1 large one.
  • Spring onions finely chopped- half a cup.
  • Carrots chopped- 2
  • Vinegar- 1 tbsp
  • Ginger garlic paste- 2 tbsp
  • Red chilli paste/ red chilli powder- 1 tsp 
  • Green chillies chopped fine-1 or 2 
  • Basil chopped finely- a few leaves.
  • Mint chopped finely- a few leaves
  • Chinese salt( MSG)- a pinch [optional]
  • Some Oregano
  • Salt.
  • Oil- 2 tbsps

  

Method:

  • First,boil carrots till soft. Let it cool down. Add the carrots with basil,oregano and mint into a jar&whip it till it’s a nice paste. Keep aside.( I can see you say ” whaat?? Is she crazy?? Trust me this does wonders)
  • Take oil in a large skillet, heat it up for a few minutes. Add the sliced onions and fry till transparent.

  

  • Add the chicken mince and let it change colour.
  • Next add the carrot paste and give it 2-3 minutes in the skillet.
  • Add the ginger garlic paste and swirl it around for a few minutes till you start getting faint whiffs of it
  • Add the red chilli paste,Chinese salt(if using) and salt. Swirl again.

  

  • Add the tomatoes and keep stirring continuously till the whole mixture is a mushy mass.(I know that sounds ewww…but this maximises the flavour)

  

  • Now add the vinegar. Add the green chillies & spring onions at the last. 

  

  • Add your cooked pasta and let it soak up the Ragú.. 

Your Ragú alla Bolognese in an Indian avatar is ready.. 

  

This dish is super quick and is a total favourite with the family. I used the elbow macaronis because they really capture the Ragú well in the bends.

 I tried to keep the dish as close to the original as possible,but doing the carrot purée is something wildly different. Just the purée with those herbs give the Ragú a very distinct nuttiness to it and also gives a hint of sweetness. 

You’re more than welcome to try it without the purée. Happy experimenting with flavours!! 



29 thoughts on “Ragú alla bolognese- An Indian Version for the spicy soul.

    1. Shewta my doll… I think you look super tempting!! 😁😁😁
      I’m still an amateur Hun.. But your compliment makes me do the wishful thinking… Like maybe I can actually cook!! 😂😂😂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Ahh!! What a lovely recipe!! There is no harm in ‘Indianizing’ any dish my darling. Most indian dishes over here are butchered anyways 😉 I like the way you have added your own twist to it 😀 I agree with you 100% regarding experimenting with flavors..cooking should have no rules!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yum! 😀 Me being a sucker for pasta, I can have it any day, at any point of time with or without chicken. I love pasta cooked in white sauce, penne pasta in white sauce to be specific,with the mild flavour of pepper doing wonders for my tingling taste buds. I am gonna try this recipe once I am home. 🙂
    Kudos dear.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oooohh myyy GAAAAWWWWDD!!
      Shambhavi.. Penne and fettuccine Alfredo are my favourites!!!
      I must have at least one serving every week..
      It’s like a ritual!! ❤️❤️❤️
      Love& Cares to my new pasta buddy!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha 😀 Pasta is just awesome! I am missing pasta now. I haven’t had for quite sometime. Found many chinese restaurants here, but no Italian around my place. I think I will hit the *google* soon. :’) And will gobble down the delicious asap. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment